Student research in astronomy

Warning: all this is obsolete:  Utrecht University, therefore no longer a university, has no astronomy program anymore.  Many links don't work anymore.

Utrecht University B.Sc. Physics & Astronomy research projects in astronomy, M.Sc. Astrophysics research projects, and Astrovaria projects must be supervised by an SIU staff member (A. Achterberg, R. Hammerschlag, C. Keller, H. Lamers, S. Larsen, N. Langer, O. Pols, R. Rutten, F. Verbunt, J. Vink) or by an external staff member involved in Utrecht University astronomy education (at SRON Utrecht:  J. Bleeker, J. Heise, P. Hoyng, J. Kaastra, M. Mendez, J. in 't Zand; at FOM Rijnhuizen:  R. Keppens).  Their colleagues, postdocs and PhD students may share in the supervision under their responsibility.  Student research may also be undertaken outside Utrecht under the responsibility of one of the above as co-superviser.

B.Sc. Physics & Astronomy research projects are 15 ECTS (10 weeks = 1 "periode" = 0.5 semester full-time).
M.Sc. Astrophysics research projects are 60 ECTS (one year full-time).
Astrovaria projects are 7.5 ECTS (5 weeks full-time).

The selection of a supervisor, the definition of a research project, and its scheduling are a matter of negotiation between student and potential supervisor.  This is a free market mechanism in which the student should take the initiative.  Find out who is doing what, identify research topics and supervisors that suit you, and then enter into negotiation with the appriopriate staff member.

Your B.Sc. Physics & Astronomy or M.Sc. Astrophysics research must start with formal "onderzoeksagenda" registration.

Presentations:  B.Sc. Physics & Astronomy research in astronomy must be reported at its completion in a SIU student seminarM.Sc. Astrophysics research must be outlined initially, after a few weeks of literature study, in a SIU student seminar and be presented at its completion in a SIU-SRON lunch talk.  It is highly recommended to submit a poster presentation of M.Sc. Astrophysics research for the yearly Nederlandse Astronomenconferentie.